Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-10-24, 18:57
c4djack's Avatar
c4djack c4djack is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 109
Save incremental

I often work on my mix for a long time, and forget to save copies of my song file, so I can't go back to earlier states. Which is bad, because I tend to change a lot.

It would be nice to have an additional item in the File menu that is called e.g. "Save incremental". It would save a copy of the song and add a number to the file name.

Ever time I use that function, it would save another copy of the current song and increase the number.

Should be easy to implement and would provide a great benefit, IMO.


Greetings,
Frank
__________________
3D Graphics Software Developer
...but into music:
http://soundcloud.com/c4d-jack
  #2  
Old 2013-10-24, 20:20
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by c4djack View Post
I often work on my mix for a long time, and forget to save copies of my song file, so I can't go back to earlier states. Which is bad, because I tend to change a lot.

It would be nice to have an additional item in the File menu that is called e.g. "Save incremental". It would save a copy of the song and add a number to the file name.

Ever time I use that function, it would save another copy of the current song and increase the number.

Should be easy to implement and would provide a great benefit, IMO.


Greetings,
Frank

+1 for the concept…
For this to work, Reason would have to change the way it saves files. Otherwise your disk will fill up quite quickly because Reason saves ALL audio (including audio not currently 'heard') in the song file.

I and others have suggested ways of making this "breadcrumb trail" feature easy to implement, and gain many additional features along the way. Check out this suggestion if you have a moment and are interested (this was written for Record originally, and it all applies to Reason today):
https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=140604
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #3  
Old 2013-10-24, 20:29
c4djack's Avatar
c4djack c4djack is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 109
Very good idea. Have several versions of the song data - excluding audio - in one file.

A thought about that: What happens if the audio data changes? E.g. by hitting the "Save and Optimize" function, or cutting & deleting parts of tracks? Would that create versioned copies of the audio material? Or would it get rid of all older versions and reduce the file to just the current one?

Probably the last, I guess.

Maybe it would make sense to have both approaches
__________________
3D Graphics Software Developer
...but into music:
http://soundcloud.com/c4d-jack
  #4  
Old 2013-10-24, 21:20
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by c4djack View Post
Very good idea. Have several versions of the song data - excluding audio - in one file.

A thought about that: What happens if the audio data changes? E.g. by hitting the "Save and Optimize" function, or cutting & deleting parts of tracks? Would that create versioned copies of the audio material? Or would it get rid of all older versions and reduce the file to just the current one?

Probably the last, I guess.

Maybe it would make sense to have both approaches
There should NEVER be a way to delete audio that is a part of a different version of a song. When it's time to trim your audio, save a new separate file and strip out the versions/audio at that point. No need for two approaches… :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #5  
Old 2013-10-24, 22:05
LastAlternative's Avatar
LastAlternative LastAlternative is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by c4djack View Post
I often work on my mix for a long time, and forget to save copies of my song file, so I can't go back to earlier states. Which is bad, because I tend to change a lot.

It would be nice to have an additional item in the File menu that is called e.g. "Save incremental". It would save a copy of the song and add a number to the file name.

Ever time I use that function, it would save another copy of the current song and increase the number.

Should be easy to implement and would provide a great benefit, IMO.


Greetings,
Frank
Whoa that would take up a lot of computer space real quick! I wouldn't use it but not a bad idea for folks like you who would.
__________________
"Life is a movie, you're a star."
"Don't waste your talents."
"Give music life!"

https://soundcloud.com/last-alternative
https://lastalternative.bandcamp.com/
  #6  
Old 2013-10-24, 23:29
c4djack's Avatar
c4djack c4djack is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 109
Storage is very cheap nowadays. I don't see a problem with that. You get terabytes of storage for relatively little money. Audio recording needs lots of space anyway, just like video production, 3D rendering, et cetera.

Currently, people make copies of their song files (well, if they remember to do so, unlike me). Takes up space, too.
__________________
3D Graphics Software Developer
...but into music:
http://soundcloud.com/c4d-jack
  #7  
Old 2013-10-25, 02:14
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by c4djack View Post
Storage is very cheap nowadays. I don't see a problem with that. You get terabytes of storage for relatively little money. Audio recording needs lots of space anyway, just like video production, 3D rendering, et cetera.

Currently, people make copies of their song files (well, if they remember to do so, unlike me). Takes up space, too.
I typically backup 20 or more versions (one every 5 minutes) with a similar feature when using Pro Tools. I see no reason to increase my disk usage by 20 times!

Also consider the time it takes to write all audio every time the system backs up, and the ways this could negatively affect the playback of the song.

I'm not a believer of "throw more hardware" at the problem, unless other options have been exhausted. :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #8  
Old 2013-10-25, 08:39
c4djack's Avatar
c4djack c4djack is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 109
So if you use ProTools session backup feature, why don't you want something similar in Reason?
__________________
3D Graphics Software Developer
...but into music:
http://soundcloud.com/c4d-jack
  #9  
Old 2013-10-25, 16:25
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by c4djack View Post
So if you use ProTools session backup feature, why don't you want something similar in Reason?
That's exactly my point - Pro Tools ONLY saves the small song files and the HD hit is minimal. That's EXACTLY what I want in Reason. Hope that makes things a bit more clear if they weren't already. :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #10  
Old 2013-10-25, 16:52
mcatalao's Avatar
mcatalao mcatalao is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,432
Yep, and it only creates audio versions when there is destructive processing.
I would expect reason to do the same.
__________________
Good Luck,
MC
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Configure Multiple Behringer BCF2000 on Reason 6:
https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...992#post903992
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
insane reason bug > wont save because of supposed missing file omkara General Forum (read only) 32 2013-04-26 16:18
can't get reason 3 to save my work any more please help!! JOEMANDEL General Forum (read only) 2 2006-09-19 00:58
Reason locks up on save, is this NTFS fault? kCEE General Forum (read only) 14 2002-08-17 20:06


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:38.