Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2003-12-09, 17:28
davelowndes davelowndes is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 0
Automation suggestions for Reason 3.0

After using Reason for a while (years) I really feel these would GREATLY increase my creativity:

1. Single record of all automation data:
Once I have a good concept down it usually contains various layers of loops, samples, synths, beats, etc. Often a complete song can be created simply by playing with combinations of the different layers. I "jam" with Reason by playing with the mutes, patterns, effects, etc. of different devices including the mixer during playback to create different feels. I need to capture ALL this information in one recording to capture the feel and energy of what I'm doing. Recording automation piecemeal (per device) loses this creativity.

2. Snapshots of automations "state"
When jamming like this I would like to snapshot an automation state for later recall. Like I am jamming, messing around with effects, various mute combinations and other setting data and end up with a specific feel. "Aha, this feels great for the bridge" or whatever. I would like to snapshot this into "Snapshot A", "Snapshot B" etc. So then I can just recall whole Reason automation states in one go instead of entering 10s of automation settings just for one section.

3. Automation quantization
So when I am recording automation things like mutes, pattern recalls, etc. fall on the downbeat, or whatever quanization level I need (half bar, etc.). This saves me spending time going back and quantizing automation data killing productivity. I realize things like patterns, matrix etc., do this but how about all on/off state controls?
  #2  
Old 2003-12-09, 17:39
Kirk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Automation suggestions for Reason 3.0

yes...sigle automation would be better...than having to create new sequencer tracks each time,
  #3  
Old 2003-12-09, 17:55
adfielding's Avatar
adfielding adfielding is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,165
Re: Automation suggestions for Reason 3.0


:yes...sigle automation would be better...than having to create new sequencer tracks each time,

Err... I think you missed the point here.
-Ad
  #4  
Old 2003-12-09, 19:53
amitopia amitopia is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 0
That's my #1 feature request.

: 1. I need to capture ALL this information in one recording
: to capture the feel and energy of what I'm doing.
: Recording automation piecemeal (per device)
: loses this creativity.

I agree.

- ell

'record enable' different device tracks simultaneously
  #5  
Old 2003-12-09, 20:27
dioxide's Avatar
dioxide dioxide is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,290
Global Record mode

yes 1 and 3 are must-haves for me at the minute:

Quantize Mixer mute on/off

Global Record function

please!
  #6  
Old 2003-12-09, 23:56
perineum perineum is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3
Yeah Yeah Yeah! and record patch changes too.

It would be great to have Reason record everything so an inspired session could be captured. Including recording multiple sequencer tracks at the same time. I'm primarily a guitarist and ReWiring from Cubase is a pain.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:46.