Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2005-09-06, 12:08
Dogboy1973's Avatar
Dogboy1973 Dogboy1973 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,727
NOTCH MODE FOR COMBINATOR ROTARY KNOBS


I keep going on about this & I'm not going to stop until we get it! I'm convinced (although I know nothing about programming) this this feature would be easy to implement but it would make a big difference to using the Combinator as well as Combinator skin design. Let me explain ...

... Controlling pattern based patches from the Combinator rotary controls is a bit of a hit & miss affair. On my own patches I might have a rotary knob assigned to a matrix with the range set (in the programmer) from 0-7 thus controlling matrix patterns A1 - A8. The problem is the way the rotary knob, with it's full 0-127 range, 'switches' between those 8 patterns - Clockwise the pattern switches at one point, anti-clockwise it's different! This means that you can't even add markers onto your Combinator skins to indicate the position of the pattern change! They might be accurate clockwise but anti-clockwise you'll notice that the position is different! As such it's best not to use any indicators on your skins at all becasue they are just not accurate & don't help much at all with pattern selection.

This could all be resolved with a simple notch mode for the Combinator's rotary knob's - Right clicking on the knob would offer the option to switch the knob to 'notch mode'. The range of the notch mode would be simply selected from 1 of 4 options i.e Notch mode 1-8, 1-16, 1-32 & 1-64. Now the Combinator Rotary knob would operate much like the r
'Resolution' knob on the ReDrum & as such patten switches would now be 100% accurate.

PLEASE POST YOUR COMMENTS ON THIS IDEA. It's a no brainer as far as I'm concered. It's a simple change that i'm sure wouldn't be difficult to implement but would make a huge difference to using the Combinator for pattern based patches.
  #2  
Old 2005-09-06, 12:45
dioxide's Avatar
dioxide dioxide is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,288
Re: NOTCH MODE FOR COMBINATOR ROTARY KNOBS

Yeah totally agree on this. Also I'd like +1/-1 value buttons for smaller increments (Shift click increases increments to +10/-10).
  #3  
Old 2005-09-06, 14:10
zero01101's Avatar
zero01101 zero01101 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 236
Re: NOTCH MODE FOR COMBINATOR ROTARY KNOBS

i'd use it.

approved.
  #4  
Old 2005-09-06, 16:49
hprieger's Avatar
hprieger hprieger is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Re: NOTCH MODE FOR COMBINATOR ROTARY KNOBS


Hi,

I second that! You really hit the point. I had the same issues/problems with the Combinator on Pattern sounds.

We have to have this!

Great for pushing this issue!

Marvin
www.marvinstyles.com
  #5  
Old 2005-09-06, 19:12
Dogboy1973's Avatar
Dogboy1973 Dogboy1973 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,727
Re: NOTCH MODE FOR COMBINATOR ROTARY KNOBS


(Made a small change to how that menu should look. This is what I would love to see when I right click those Combinator rotary knobs!)


I'm surpised this wasn't implemented from the start. Especially since there are plenty of pattern controlled patches in the factory soundbank.

I've got some ideas for performance/pattern based patches but they require a lot of patterns some of which need to be labelled clearly on the Combinator's skin in order to make the patch properly usable. This would be practical with a notch mode because I could label each notch individually on the skin. It's not possible as it is though because the labels on the skin wouldn't nescessarily correspond with the position of the rotory knob in relation to the pattern change!

Anyway KEEP POSTING IF YOU WANT THIS. It's a simple feature. It's not like we're asking for a new device! I'm hoping that if enough people ask for this then the Prop's will take notice & implement it in the next update. I'd be happy to download Reason 3.0.5 if the only change was a notch mode for the Combinator! I want/need it pretty badly!

  #6  
Old 2005-09-06, 19:46
particlejunkie's Avatar
particlejunkie particlejunkie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 2,548
Re: NOTCH MODE FOR COMBINATOR ROTARY KNOBS

good idea. we should get this next time around.
www.georgeandhispencil.com
  #7  
Old 2005-09-11, 13:37
Dogboy1973's Avatar
Dogboy1973 Dogboy1973 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,727
Re: NOTCH MODE FOR COMBINATOR ROTARY KNOBS

Keep the votes coming please

I've given up on the Combinator patch I'm working on because pattern change doesn't work how I need it to!

WE NEED A NOTCH MOODE ASAP!!! PLEASE!
  #8  
Old 2005-09-11, 13:37
Dogboy1973's Avatar
Dogboy1973 Dogboy1973 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,727
Re: NOTCH MODE FOR COMBINATOR ROTARY KNOBS

Keep the votes coming please

I've given up on the Combinator patch I'm working on because pattern change doesn't work how I need it to!

WE NEED A NOTCH MODE ASAP!!! PLEASE!
  #9  
Old 2005-09-11, 17:49
Osseous Osseous is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 0
Re: NOTCH MODE FOR COMBINATOR ROTARY KNOBS

I'm with Dogboy on this one. I just can't figure out how the props managed to make so many performance patches without notch mode. It must have been very frustrating for them, especially when they could just change the reason code a wee bit.

Thanks for the post Dogboy and the graphics that go with it.

Cheers

Oss
  #10  
Old 2005-09-12, 14:28
Stompp Stompp is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 931
Yeah this would rock, totally agree! :) n/t

 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:33.