Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2006-12-02, 18:43
DemonSeed DemonSeed is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 0
Remove unused samples, optimize song

It would be a nice feature to have a remove unused samples function in reason, especially for songs which have to load large kits with alot of mapped velocity layers like drums/piano's/etc (the user can just reload the kit again if they want all the velocity layers). It's also great for those lazy people who seem to add alot of things in nn19/nnxt/device/instrument whatever but aren't particularly using it in the song/sequencer, perhaps make a popup dialogue to choose to load all samples, or only relevant samples that are used in the song. This could well save on cpu/ram for those with weaker computer specs.
Another feature I think that would be a big help is an optimize feature, something similar to the 'Cleanup' function in an app like modplug, where unused patterns or anything irrelevant is removed or not loaded/displayed and the song is 'cleaned up'. Maybe to have it also optimize wiring between devices, so instead of having something duped several times, reason intelligently figures out that it can just do it with less devices [maybe even spidering things together], thus further lowering cpu usage. You could have a menu for 'Remove/load unused samples' and 'Load/Unload optimized' so that the song can be loaded as it was made originally or optimized. I can see the remove/load unused samples thing happening before the optimize feature though, as it probably won't require as much code. Oh yeah I forgot to add one more thing, it's about the redrum. I'm sure I'm not the only one who's come across this. I want to be able to copy the steps of a pattern, i.e. whatever is on 1-16, to 17-32 etc because you can only copy the whole pattern. It's a little tedious trying to copy whole segments of certain steps in the redrum let's say I have 64 steps and I wanted 1-16 to be copied to 49-64 instead of having to manually fill it in [of course copy pattern won't do this, because we specifically need steps 1-16 to be copied to 49-64 in the actual pattern]. I hope my explanations have been somewhat clear enough to understand. but I do hope you take these suggestions into consideration
  #2  
Old 2006-12-02, 18:48
DemonSeed DemonSeed is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 0
Re: Remove unused samples, optimize song

: It would be a nice feature to have a remove unused samples function in reason, especially for songs which have to load large kits with alot of mapped velocity layers like drums/piano's/etc (the user can just reload the kit again if they want all the velocity layers). It's also great for those lazy people who seem to add alot of things in nn19/nnxt/device/instrument whatever but aren't particularly using it in the song/sequencer, perhaps make a popup dialogue to choose to load all samples, or only relevant samples that are used in the song. This could well save on cpu/ram for those with weaker computer specs.
: Another feature I think that would be a big help is an optimize feature, something similar to the 'Cleanup' function in an app like modplug, where unused patterns or anything irrelevant is removed or not loaded/displayed and the song is 'cleaned up'. Maybe to have it also optimize wiring between devices, so instead of having something duped several times, reason intelligently figures out that it can just do it with less devices [maybe even spidering things together], thus further lowering cpu usage. You could have a menu for 'Remove/load unused samples' and 'Load/Unload optimized' so that the song can be loaded as it was made originally or optimized. I can see the remove/load unused samples thing happening before the optimize feature though, as it probably won't require as much code. Oh yeah I forgot to add one more thing, it's about the redrum. I'm sure I'm not the only one who's come across this. I want to be able to copy the steps of a pattern, i.e. whatever is on 1-16, to 17-32 etc because you can only copy the whole pattern. It's a little tedious trying to copy whole segments of certain steps in the redrum let's say I have 64 steps and I wanted 1-16 to be copied to 49-64 instead of having to manually fill it in [of course copy pattern won't do this, because we specifically need steps 1-16 to be copied to 49-64 in the actual pattern]. I hope my explanations have been somewhat clear enough to understand. but I do hope you take these suggestions into consideration

PS - one more thing :P how about the ability to use custom colors in the pattern sequencer, and also name individually grouped patterns in the sequencer view
  #3  
Old 2006-12-05, 10:00
rfitz's Avatar
rfitz rfitz is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Re: Remove unused samples, optimize song

: PS - one more thing :P how about the ability to use custom colors in the pattern sequencer, and also name individually grouped patterns in the sequencer view

That's what I was suggesting in my post also! But nobody replied. As it happens I think its a great idea - along with the whole optimise / cleanup thing.
  #4  
Old 2006-12-19, 07:37
reason5
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Remove unused samples, optimize song

: I want to be able to copy the steps of a pattern, i.e. whatever is on 1-16, to 17-32 etc because you can only copy the whole pattern. It's a little tedious trying to copy whole segments of certain steps in the redrum let's say I have 64 steps and I wanted 1-16 to be copied to 49-64 instead of having to manually fill it in [of course copy pattern won't do this, because we specifically need steps 1-16 to be copied to 49-64 in the actual pattern]. I hope my explanations have been somewhat clear enough to understand. but I do hope you take these suggestions into consideration

I gave up on using the ReDrum in that way, now I simply use 1-16 and use each bank across (A1, A2, A3 etc) rather than attempt to go up in steps (saves quite a lot of time). Your clean up idea sounds like a very necessary function especially if you have large patches loaded. I have been deleting unused samples from devices such as the NN-XT in order to save on loading times, but it would be nice to have a way to reverse that if something changed or needed to be changed.
  #5  
Old 2013-08-31, 23:49
Poohbear69 Poohbear69 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
I love this idea of the optimse and remove any unused samples, I have a large drum kit, very nice to change between drums etc on the fly, however it would be nice to remove anything unused when sharing songs with friends etc.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:55.