Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2008-09-15, 00:07
pjmuck pjmuck is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Anyone using a guitar synth to control Reason?

Hello everyone. Newbie here, though I have dabbled in Reason for the past couple of years starting with 2.5. I'm on 3.0 right now, and may or may not upgrade to 4.0 if and when I upgrade my laptop as well. For now, I'm happy with my setup.

Anyway, I got into guitar synthesis about a year ago and I've been using the onboard sounds of my Roland GR-33 guitar synth with my Godin LGX-SA guitar. I'm a little tired of those internal sounds, and naturally want to see if I can create and control Reason's tones using my guitar synth especially live. In addition, I also recently bought the Axon AX50, which is supposed to have the best tracking available as well as the ability to split your guitar into zones for assigning different sounds to either strings, frets, or even touch sensitivity. Pretty cool.

Long story short: I have not been able to get either the GR-33 or the Axon to talk to Reason. When I use the Gr-33 to Reason, I'm running it through a Midisport 2x2, and when I use the Axon I use it's USB out, which also functions as midi in/out. Both units have no problem controlling hardware synths, but in Reason I'm not hearing any sound when I play the guitar and midi information doesn't seem to be getting through either, since there isn't even midi info recorded in the sequencer. I am, however, able to control a sound module's volume fader up and down when I turn my guitar's volume knob on and off, so some info's getting through. Very strange.

Any suggestions? Is there a specific way I need to set up the GR-33 or Axon in the preferences control devices section? (right now it's set up as "other" midi controller, since I don't know how else to categorize these pitch to midi guitar synth converters). Is there a section in Reason where I specify the specific midi channel to receive/transmit on? Note that I also use an Oxygen 8 midi keyboard controller and I don't recall having to assign a specific midi channel to the Oxygen/Reason when I first set that up, since it was very plug and go.

Thanks in advance and sorry for the long post.
  #2  
Old 2008-09-16, 17:32
Fuct4life Fuct4life is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5
i have used my guitar as a midi controller before with reason and found that the science behind, a well functioning syth guitar hasn't been perfected yet.. So some trouble shooting for you would be

1. do you have midi pick-ups on your guitar
2. what types of midi messages does your gr send
3. how do you have it set up
  #3  
Old 2008-09-18, 15:18
oneil1 oneil1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Hello,
I control reason with my Godin nylon string and Axon ax50 and I love it! I'm not at home right now so I can't tell you how my setup is but just wanted to tell you that its possible! If you haven't figured it out yet just let me know.
Mike
  #4  
Old 2008-09-18, 16:19
Koshdukai's Avatar
Koshdukai Koshdukai is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,069
If you need to peek at the MIDI stream and you're using Windows, you can try MIDI-OX to check what interface, MIDI Channel(s) and what kind of data is being sent from your guitar to your computer.

  #5  
Old 2009-02-08, 15:25
prophead1236
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I would love to know how you have set this up! Please post. Thanks.
  #6  
Old 2009-02-08, 17:47
dawelo1958's Avatar
dawelo1958 dawelo1958 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 577
Take a look at this:
http://www.propellerheads.se/substan...&article=part8
  #7  
Old 2009-02-08, 19:21
krishotvedt's Avatar
krishotvedt krishotvedt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 286
How good does this really work? I see two opposite opinions on this same thread. Personally there is no substitue for the real thing, but running though a synth gives you a lot more editing options. How much do these synths go for?
__________________
CHECK OUT OUR ORIGINAL DEMOS @ www.myspace.com/kbproduktions
  #8  
Old 2009-02-10, 12:14
descathach's Avatar
descathach descathach is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by dawelo1958 View Post
I play some guitar, but I'm not that good. This is so cool that it makes me want to get a guitar controller, the possibilities are to say the least, enticing......
  #9  
Old 2011-09-30, 17:40
NonZombie NonZombie is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
I just bought one of the You Rock Guitars.. Looks like a toy for Guitar Hero... In fact, can be used for guitar hero.. But it is also a nice Midi Controller and is only $220. Here is the link:
http://www.yourockguitar.com/video/musicians

There are also a lot of cool videos on youtube... I have had mine for one day and i love it.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Learning Reason paskel13 General Forum (read only) 6 2013-03-23 07:58
How do I solve that factory sound bank thingie? vectro Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2009-05-19 20:11
My Reason 3 workflow and general thoughts about Reason 4 Andrew108 General Forum (read only) 7 2007-02-12 10:17
CM Motor Mix Control Surface possible with Reason ? roller General Forum (read only) 4 2006-06-21 09:39
Using a guitar with reason? smokeavich General Forum (read only) 11 2003-06-04 02:10


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:57.