Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2009-10-15, 23:12
Francola Francola is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4
What happened to remembering Save locations?

Record has lost one very important time saving and workflow enhancing feature that Reason 4 had. This is the ability to remember 'save path locations'. What I mean by remembering the save path location is this... I separate my songs from my mixes from my patches - all into separate folders. My sounds and efx patches are separated into their own folders too. Back in the days of Reason 4 I never had to worry where anything was saved to... Once I'd saved something into the appropriate folder, Reason would remember this location. For example. I would save Combinator patches into my Combinator folder, my latest track in my Songs folder and when doing an export, I'd save those mixes in my Mixes folder. Once I'd saved anything that was saveable into the appropriate folder, Reason 4 would remember where that folder was, both when doing a 'Save' and a 'Save as'. This fantastic piece of usability meant that I wouldn't have to drill up and down through folders to save stuff and I wouldn't get songs saved in the Malström patches folder or mixes turning up in the Scream patches folder. It all just WORKED in Reason. Which it doesn't in Record!

So bottom-line... Not having save location memory means:
1. The creative process gets constantly interrupted, so I lose my flow
2. I'm continuously using the Finder to go back and clean up my folders, because...
3. I keep losing track of where everything's being saved to, because...
4. It takes time to: stop, think where to save to, find the folder, etc therefore...
5. It wastes much time, which I don't have much of, which means...
6. I don't get so much done, which means...
7. I'm tearing my last few remaining hairs out.

So PLEASE can you fix Record to behave in the way Reason did?

Please?

PS. I do love Record in every other way. It is a truly magnificent app. Thank you.
  #2  
Old 2009-11-26, 00:48
james984 james984 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
I was about to post a similar thing, thankfully I found the search button. I find that it wants to export my audio files to my .record file folder! these should be separate! :P
  #3  
Old 2009-11-26, 03:17
tunnelsurf's Avatar
tunnelsurf tunnelsurf is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 804
i have spoken about this problem as well. even in reason 3 the function that remembers the paths to the files is flawed. if i dont use the file for a while reason forgets where they are. and your totally right it screws up your flow when it has to search for all these files.

what i did

after each session locate all the files i use and put them in a dedicated folder with the session. i did this manually for like 50 tracks and i wanted to cry and puke.

what they need to do

is have a function under the file menu that is collect and save all .
ONce this is hit it will collect your session / misc. samples / and extract whatever sounds from any refill you use and put it in a dedicated folder.

this is a must cause the more songs and samples and refills you have the crazier it can get

props is the best please make this happen so i don't puke and cry.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reason Adapted / Save , Open Files tomeeo General Forum (read only) 2 2009-02-24 02:01
can't get reason 3 to save my work any more please help!! JOEMANDEL General Forum (read only) 2 2006-09-19 00:58
Reason locks up on save, is this NTFS fault? kCEE General Forum (read only) 14 2002-08-17 20:06


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:00.