Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2009-12-21, 23:19
Monkeyzak Monkeyzak is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 98
Reaper v Record

I fired up Reaper tonight. Zero Latency. Riffworks - Zero Latency Audacity - Zero Latency!!!

THe problem seems to be Record. I'm bummed that I've spent so many hours on this and still have problems.

Can I use REason with Reaper does anyone know???? Its simpler to use and works great with my POD farm.

After another fruitless night messing around with my Laptop instead of playing, I'm binning it. I would not recommend this software to anyone.

If I can figure out how to use REason with REaper I'll move over to that and buy a full licence. Just hacked off I've WASTED money on Record.

Not a happy camper tonight

REading a lot of threads, theres loads of us have bought Record on the strength of some magazine articles.

You live and learn. I'm glad loads are enjoying it. Just wish it was me.,
  #2  
Old 2009-12-21, 23:25
jknight1's Avatar
jknight1 jknight1 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Yes u can use reason via rewire into reaper.
  #3  
Old 2009-12-21, 23:30
dioxide's Avatar
dioxide dioxide is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,290
Just to checking the obvious: have you adjusted the Buffer size in the Audio Preferences?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkeyzak View Post
I'm binning it.
Don't do that. Sell it to me for cheap.
  #4  
Old 2009-12-21, 23:33
Monkeyzak Monkeyzak is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by jknight1 View Post
Yes u can use reason via rewire into reaper.
I'm thinking. Use what I know and slowly learn Record. I reckon its never a good idea to buy the first run of a new software.

I am new to this. Whats rewire?????

I am running a UX2 and POD Farm. I open POD Farm and Reaper. I play, I record. Happy days. Thats what I wanted from Record but with the seamless link to Reason.

Thanks

Maybe I've just been unlucky but theres a lot of threads with folks not happy. I hope Proppellerhead are taking note.

THey sell the product as seamless with Line 6. Its not.
  #5  
Old 2009-12-21, 23:36
Monkeyzak Monkeyzak is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by dioxide View Post
Just to checking the obvious: have you adjusted the Buffer size in the Audio Preferences?



Don't do that. Sell it to me for cheap.

I haev the buffer to a point where its causing interference. I made 2 recordings tonight. One on Reaper and one on Record.

No comparison. Even the set up of POD FARM is way ahead of the access to my Line 6 stuff on Record.

I feel this has been missold to Line 6 users.

I have never been so hacked off with a piece of kit. THis is a first for me.

I will keep trying with it, but right now I am unhappy
  #6  
Old 2009-12-21, 23:46
selfdude's Avatar
selfdude selfdude is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,190
What is your record latency?

What are your tech specs?

Maybe we can help you figure out your issues.

Is it just recording latency or are you having other problems?

I would say that the record upgrade from reason would be worth it just for audio integration with reason devices and the ssl mixer. Even if you can never get the recording part working well.
__________________
sarcastically yours,
selfdude

New for October Kilo Hearts One Contest Entry

Loading SoundCloud…
  #7  
Old 2009-12-21, 23:50
Benedict's Avatar
Benedict Benedict is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,930
You can do that but it sure ain't easy or smooth workflow :roll:

__________________
Benedict Roff-Marsh
- - - - - - - - - -
Music: Bandcamp
ReFills: OSC + Filter - Super Mono-Synth
  #8  
Old 2009-12-22, 00:29
avasopht's Avatar
avasopht avasopht is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkeyzak View Post
I fired up Reaper tonight. Zero Latency. Riffworks - Zero Latency Audacity - Zero Latency!!!

THe problem seems to be Record. I'm bummed that I've spent so many hours on this and still have problems.

Can I use REason with Reaper does anyone know???? Its simpler to use and works great with my POD farm.

After another fruitless night messing around with my Laptop instead of playing, I'm binning it. I would not recommend this software to anyone.

If I can figure out how to use REason with REaper I'll move over to that and buy a full licence. Just hacked off I've WASTED money on Record.

Not a happy camper tonight

REading a lot of threads, theres loads of us have bought Record on the strength of some magazine articles.

You live and learn. I'm glad loads are enjoying it. Just wish it was me.,
Hmm; Record has no latency issues - chances are that you are using the Primary Sound Driver, you need to switch to the ASIO one. I can happily run with 2ms latency in Record, and that's with a fairly low priced card
__________________
i5 4440 quad core @ 3.6Ghz | AMD XFX Radeon HD 7750 | 32GB Ram | I Think Therefore iHack
Loading SoundCloud…
  #9  
Old 2009-12-22, 00:52
dioxide's Avatar
dioxide dioxide is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,290
For anyone wanting to help out, here's another thread about his ASIO problems:

https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=118949

I'm OSX so I know nothing about ASIO stuff, so I'm bowing out.
  #10  
Old 2009-12-22, 00:58
petegwatson's Avatar
petegwatson petegwatson is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,288
Hi,

I use Record with Zero latency on Imac and Macbook. The software is outstanding (I also have Logic 9 and Ableton 8)... I haven't used either to record anything since getting Record (But I do use Logic for VST host and mastering).

It is a shame you have not been able to get this working. For me the experience was literally plug in and start playing. I would highly recommend record, it really is worth persevering to get it working.
__________________
Pete
London, UK
Soundcloud
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Record and why 'professionals" might not touch it Alchemium Phead User Forum (read only) 82 2011-06-22 21:58
Questions about Record acehole7 General Forum (read only) 2 2009-11-18 04:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:24.