Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2010-08-02, 00:13
mstrobel mstrobel is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Unhappy redrum samples changing pitch

Help! never had this happen before but I made a drum loop in redrum and when I tried to sequence it, it changed the pitch and length of the kick drum and other samples. So when you play the sequenced version verses the patch on the redrum it sounds different. I'm frustrated please help!! (using reason 4)
  #2  
Old 2010-08-02, 00:20
Benedict's Avatar
Benedict Benedict is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,920
Are you turning the ReDrum pattern into audio in Record and then changing tempo?

Is there some stray Automation you have forgotten about? Watch the ReDrum knobs for moving when you press play.

Did you turn the audio into a loop in NN-XT (or NN-19) and have the Root Key different to the key triggered in the sequence?

One of these are probably your cause and solution.

__________________
Benedict Roff-Marsh
- - - - - - - - - -
Music: Bandcamp
ReFills: OSC + Filter - Super Mono-Synth
  #3  
Old 2010-08-02, 00:34
mstrobel mstrobel is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks for your input! None of those things apply to this problem. I only have two redrums, a scream, a filter, and a delay in this session so far, nothing else is sequenced, no automation recorded and no knobs are moving. it seems more like it isn't playing to full length of the sample just the attack of the kick and not the release. but you just play it from the redrum itself and sounds fine...... I have tried deleting it and recopying the pattern to track but same thing
  #4  
Old 2010-08-02, 00:43
Benedict's Avatar
Benedict Benedict is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,920
Well that is odd. I'd be working on a process of elimination myself: Is it the patch, sequence, computer..?

Maybe if you upload the project someone can have a looksee for you (at work myself).

__________________
Benedict Roff-Marsh
- - - - - - - - - -
Music: Bandcamp
ReFills: OSC + Filter - Super Mono-Synth
  #5  
Old 2010-08-02, 01:05
Corsica_S's Avatar
Corsica_S Corsica_S is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 112
I believe this has to do with the "vel" switch (decay/gate mode). If you look at the channel with the problem it is likely that the switch is up in gate mode (the switch is next to the "length" knob." You can either switch it to the decay mode (down), or in the sequencer make the notes longer.
  #6  
Old 2010-08-02, 02:44
Benedict's Avatar
Benedict Benedict is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,920
Yeah, that would create chopped notes because ReDrum uses very short trigger messages. Doesn't cause any actual pitch shifting but the attack of most percussion is pitched higher than the body.

Good call Corsica

__________________
Benedict Roff-Marsh
- - - - - - - - - -
Music: Bandcamp
ReFills: OSC + Filter - Super Mono-Synth
  #7  
Old 2010-08-02, 02:46
mstrobel mstrobel is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Thats IT!!!! you are a genius Corsica!! I figured it was something simple that I was over looking. I am just getting back into reason after a couple year hiatus and boy do I have a lot to learn! Thank you very much for your help, I am sure this won't be the last problem I need help with. have a good one.

p.s. Thanks Benedict for your time trying to figure it out also
  #8  
Old 2010-08-02, 02:58
Benedict's Avatar
Benedict Benedict is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,920
No worries. Glad it is sorted. It's almost always the really simple things we assume to be not important or correct that cause us to become undone it situation like this.

Thankfully the more you have these errors and sort them the less it will happen.

__________________
Benedict Roff-Marsh
- - - - - - - - - -
Music: Bandcamp
ReFills: OSC + Filter - Super Mono-Synth
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! Using external sampler to trigger ReDrum samples. jackrains General Forum (read only) 8 2009-09-24 02:34
"Doru Malaia-SuperPercussionsFX-vol.1-4" (26.000 samples !) DORUMALAIA General Forum (read only) 15 2004-09-15 05:48
Tuning your Redrum Samples? Cant get them in tune? nmendoza General Forum (read only) 7 2003-09-07 01:41
Using multi-velocity percussion samples in Redrum? Thrunk General Forum (read only) 2 2003-05-07 11:21


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:21.