Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2010-10-26, 05:53
curtisnoel's Avatar
curtisnoel curtisnoel is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Novation Launchpad

Has anyone tried the Novation Launchpad with Reason and/or Record? Any feedback on how useful it is or how compatible it is?

Thanks Curt
  #2  
Old 2010-10-27, 04:32
DBJones DBJones is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 325
I am curious about this too but it looks as if no one has tried it.

Automap keeps improving and the Novation Nocturn and Nocturn 49 keyboard now interface really well with Reason and Record and it is very easy to re-map the controls to suit specific needs. I don't see why the Launchpad would be any different.

http://www.novationmusic.com/product...music_software

From watching the video tutorials you seem get a big grid of buttons and will not have anything like, for example, the Mixer mode with Live. For most needs I would have thought the Nocturn keyboards are more closely matched to Reason and Record functionality.

Last edited by DBJones; 2010-10-27 at 04:44.
  #3  
Old 2010-10-27, 07:45
BonezMcCoy's Avatar
BonezMcCoy BonezMcCoy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,702
Hi

This guy Deluded has been working on something:

https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=131317

http://www.deluded.co.uk/blog/
  #4  
Old 2010-10-27, 10:19
DBJones DBJones is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 325
Thanks Bonez
  #5  
Old 2010-12-27, 12:17
phasys's Avatar
phasys phasys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,888
Woop. I just did a DJ mix with Ableton and the launchpad, and my midicontroller for faders/eq knobs, and it works FANTASTIC!!
__________________
"Having unlimited choices can paralyze you creatively." - David Byrne

"Some questions simply do not deserve an answer." - Richard Dawkins

https://soundcloud.com/dutch-bastard

omfg one million megahurz CPU
  #6  
Old 2010-12-30, 03:35
kenzoperron kenzoperron is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Its kind of a hassle. You have to use automap, novations mapping software, and for some reason it shows no assignable parameters for triggering drum sounds. Its been pissing me off for ages because that was one of the reasons i bought the controller in the first place.
  #7  
Old 2010-12-30, 03:39
phasys's Avatar
phasys phasys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenzoperron View Post
Its kind of a hassle. You have to use automap, novations mapping software, and for some reason it shows no assignable parameters for triggering drum sounds. Its been pissing me off for ages because that was one of the reasons i bought the controller in the first place.
Yeah, it's not working as it should. But the guy who made ReLaunch hasn't replied yet.
__________________
"Having unlimited choices can paralyze you creatively." - David Byrne

"Some questions simply do not deserve an answer." - Richard Dawkins

https://soundcloud.com/dutch-bastard

omfg one million megahurz CPU
  #8  
Old 2011-04-27, 22:29
phletch phletch is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 100
any update on this...seems an ideal controller to map to thors step seq, crazy that it cant just midi learn from what u say...i was thinking of getting one...
__________________
www.soundcloud.com/bleepfunk
  #9  
Old 2011-04-27, 22:39
BonezMcCoy's Avatar
BonezMcCoy BonezMcCoy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,702
Version 1.0 is ready and he's now working on 1.1.

http://www.deluded.co.uk/blog/
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novation Launchpad curtisnoel Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2010-10-03 03:31
Novation Launchpad with Reason/Record KidBomba Phead User Forum (read only) 17 2010-07-27 16:44
Novation launchpad and Reason Record Mizio General Forum (read only) 1 2009-11-01 17:02
RE: Novation Remote SL MIDI Controller Questions mentalyeti Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2008-02-04 21:39


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:48.