Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2011-07-12, 15:42
boyaka2000 boyaka2000 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 251
Mapping Akai MPK Mini to Reason

Hi. Im new to all this. Just bought Reason/Record duo and am planning to use an Akai MPK mini controller for the time being.

Only thing is only 2 rows of the 4 available rows of drum pads on the MPK Mini are mapped to Kong - is this something I fix in Reason or the MPK editor.

Sorry if this sounds dumb, it probably is!!
  #2  
Old 2011-07-12, 15:50
Phil513 Phil513 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by boyaka2000 View Post
Hi. Im new to all this. Just bought Reason/Record duo and am planning to use an Akai MPK mini controller for the time being.

Only thing is only 2 rows of the 4 available rows of drum pads on the MPK Mini are mapped to Kong - is this something I fix in Reason or the MPK editor.

Sorry if this sounds dumb, it probably is!!
Happened to me too, but the buttons at the very top left will "Scroll" the pads up and down the Kong.

I can't remember the names on those buttons at the time, but i'll get back to you.

Its kinda like the octave button for the keyboard.
  #3  
Old 2011-07-12, 15:55
Phil513 Phil513 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 323
OK, the buttons say "PAD BANK 1, and PAD BANK 2"

Try fiddling with those.
  #4  
Old 2011-07-12, 15:57
boyaka2000 boyaka2000 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 251
Hi guys...

Yes, I get the pad bank thing.... but thats what im saying, across all 4 rows (pad bank 1 and 2) only 2 rows work one from each pad bank.

I guess its GOT to be in the MPK editor somewhere?
  #5  
Old 2011-07-12, 15:59
Phil513 Phil513 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 323
Oh hmmm, that is weird. I'll have to look at that when i get home.

Hopefully someone has some advice.
  #6  
Old 2011-07-12, 16:03
boyaka2000 boyaka2000 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 251
yeah its dead weird... there's no template in reason for the mpk mini is the issue i think, so ive tried it with the mpk49 template and with the "other" which it advises, and its the same on both... i guess cos its looking for 16 pads not 8 pads with the choice of 2 banks.
  #7  
Old 2011-07-12, 16:46
electronebula
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
First, since there's no template for miniMPK in Reason, add it as a generic MIDI controller (instead of Auto-detect Surfaces, go to Add --> Other --> MIDI Control Keyboard --> Find).

Second, go to the MPK editor and make sure the pads' Note# are assigned sequentially starting from C1 (i.e. C1,C#1,D1,etc.) These correspond to the pads of the Kong and also the ReDrum.

Don't worry about the banks, it's just a way to store and quickly switch between two different configurations.
  #8  
Old 2011-07-13, 01:57
WoodyUK WoodyUK is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Hi...had the same issue and had a mess around and the below seems to work although I have to warn that I am totally new to this and have no real idea what I'm doing...this was trial and error...

1: In MPK editor select Load Preset.
2: In the explorer box that opens browse to the folder where you installed the editor. On mine it's Program Files (x86)>AkaiPro>MPKminiEditor>Presets
3: You should get four files appearring for different preset configurations. Select Preset1-Chromatic and Open.
4: In the editor select Upload to change the config on the mini itself.

This configuration seems to map the pads on the mini to the Kong pads exactly (Pad Bank 1 = Kong Pads 1-8; PB 2 = Kong Pads 9-16) but what it does for the other keys and knobs, who knows...The keys at least still seem to work Ok if controlling synths etc. so looks like this may be the answer but it's worth playing around with to find out.

Hope this helps
  #9  
Old 2011-07-13, 10:47
boyaka2000 boyaka2000 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 251
Awesome! Thanks guys, will work it out tonight!
  #10  
Old 2011-07-15, 22:15
Lateralus Lateralus is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
WoodyUK has got it bang on to set up the pads for use with Kong. As far as the issue with the pots not working properly, right click on the control you want the mpk pot to control, click on edit remote override mapping, make sure the box for learn from control surface input is checked and turn the pot on the mpk, then click ok, works perfectly for me.
BTW if anyone would like to listen to my attempts at making music, please have a gander at http://soundcloud.com/pato-de-hombre
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Learning Reason paskel13 General Forum (read only) 6 2013-03-23 07:58
Reason 5 is good, but... Espejo Phead User Forum (read only) 47 2011-05-10 08:07
akai mpk49 and reason 4 lethalproductions22 Phead User Forum (read only) 5 2009-02-10 15:45
akai mpk49 and reason 4 lethalproductions22 General Forum (read only) 0 2009-01-21 20:46
reason on mac mini via touch screen as live performance rig chunonghead General Forum (read only) 2 2006-07-20 19:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:17.