Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

View Poll Results: How much extra would you pay for a version of Reason that supports VSTs?
Nothing, because I don't want VST support in Reason 204 60.00%
Nothing - I want VST support but everyone else should have to pay for it 12 3.53%
Up to $49 31 9.12%
Between $50 and $99 41 12.06%
Between $100 and $149 16 4.71%
Between $150 and $199 8 2.35%
$200 or more! 28 8.24%
Voters: 340. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2011-07-20, 00:31
LeopoldStotch's Avatar
LeopoldStotch LeopoldStotch is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,172
Poll: How much extra would you pay for VST support?

Imagine propellerheads decided to come out with a version of Reason that supports vsts / plugins. How much extra would you be willing to pay for it?
  #2  
Old 2011-07-20, 00:35
djbriang's Avatar
djbriang djbriang is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 260
reaper is free already or 40 bucks if want to pay
__________________
"For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life." John 3:16
  #3  
Old 2011-07-20, 00:43
LeopoldStotch's Avatar
LeopoldStotch LeopoldStotch is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by djbriang View Post
reaper is free already or 40 bucks if want to pay
True, but rewire is evil and Reason is a toy because it doesn't support VSTs, or so many on this forum would have us believe.
  #4  
Old 2011-07-20, 00:44
Exowildebeest Exowildebeest is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,766
As crazy as it sounds, I'd probably pay 200 or more, but I can't give any general arguments for that. It'd help my personal workflow, not having to switch to Ableton to record VST's.

Again, this is assuming it's implemented perfectly and doesn't interfere with stability.

I doubt it will happen. Anyway, this topic might just be the only slightly original take on the VST-discussion in months. Though Propellerheads probably have market researchers that get paid a lot to figure out the answers to exactly questions like these.
  #5  
Old 2011-07-20, 00:53
GeorgeFeb GeorgeFeb is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,264
People it's getting really crazy about these VST things...

I'm was thinking, Props may take offense on us for that VST craziness & never update anything! =)
  #6  
Old 2011-07-20, 03:49
Phil513 Phil513 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 323
Nada. Don't want it.
  #7  
Old 2011-07-20, 06:24
Danoc's Avatar
Danoc Danoc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeopoldStotch View Post
True, but rewire is evil and Reason is a toy because it doesn't support VSTs, or so many on this forum would have us believe.
I voted not pay and don't want VSTs. I have them in PT it doesn't make sense to get the same VSTi's and the couple of VSTs plugin efx that I already have.

You think Reason is a toy just because it' doesn't support external plugins? It's hardly a toy.
__________________
http://soundcloud.com/danoc44/ahmir-da-n-o-c-remix
Remix by the Da N.O.C. for AHMIR!!! DONE IN RECORD!!!
  #8  
Old 2011-07-20, 08:55
PointZeroProductions's Avatar
PointZeroProductions PointZeroProductions is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 328
All the need to do to allow vst support is make reason rewire master.
  #9  
Old 2011-07-20, 09:14
NewAtlantisAudio's Avatar
NewAtlantisAudio NewAtlantisAudio is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,490
Does anyone have a suggestion on just how they would implement them?

Reason devices MUST be @760 pixels wide, half rack effects aside. VSTs come in a massive variety of all shapes and sizes, so you definitely can't put them in as a rack device.

So then, do you have a plugin "holder" device, sort of like a Combinator, which can handle it's ins and outs, maybe some mapped controls, and when you need to actually edit/operate the plugin itself it would then open up in a floating window, like in other DAWs?

A huge part of what makes Reason cool is the freeform routing and modulation possibilities. None of those would apply to 3rd party plugins. They don't speak the proprietary CV "language" that is in Reason, so you wouldn't really be able to integrate them with any other Reason devices besides audio effects. Props would then have to build some kind of CV to MIDI translation so that you could really integrate them. Also, VSTs have no standard for the number of audio and MIDI in/outs they have. It varies case by case. How would Reason account for that in a rack device?

Then you get into the aesthetics of it. Reason very obviously adheres to a distinct look and feel. The moment you add 3rd party plugs that all goes out the window. It's much more important to the usability than people realize. Hell, it IS the usability.

There are a million more things to consider once you start really thinking about it beyond "I want plugins in Reason". It might not be that great of an idea.
  #10  
Old 2011-07-20, 09:56
GeorgeFeb GeorgeFeb is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,264
Nothing, because I don't want VST support in Reason - 35 Q.E.D.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Important --- Propellerhead Tech Support Boombie General Forum (read only) 1 2003-01-29 17:14
Reason 3.0 VST Poll Results! SHOCKING SHOCKING!! thral General Forum (read only) 3 2002-12-07 06:37
POLL: Should VST(i) support be added to Reason 3.0? thral General Forum (read only) 28 2002-12-06 05:40
SD 2 file support??? lukedg General Forum (read only) 0 2002-10-04 21:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:57.