Propellerhead Software
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 2009-11-28, 12:39

Reason Record Questions

Hi & Thanks!

For several years, since version 5, I have been a Live user. Live 8 Suite has thoroughly disenchanted me and because I vocalized my opinions and dissatisfaction with the Able tech dept., they threw me under the bus with respect to any more ongoing tech support. I'm just saying all this up front so that no one thinks I am some mindless troll out to cause trouble.

I am very new to the realm of the DAW. I am not new to music. What I need is stability and an egoless approach to recording and constructing improvised music. That's what I do. What I recieved from Ableton was pretty much the exact opposite in the end.

Typically I use NI synths, Spectrasonics Stylus RMX and my own multiple external audio inputs via 2 e-mu 1616m docks. This is a PC, Windows XP SP3, high level quad core process and 4 Gigs of ram & 3 fast dedicated hard drives. I also use a standard duel monitor supported Gforce card strictly for the sake of two monitors.

My only real experience with Propellerheads Software has been the Recycle 2.1 program which I use in conjunction with Stylus RMX.

I am going to be straight with everyone right up front. Remember, in MANY ways I am very ignorant to the realm if digital.

I have always heard over at the Ableton forum that Reason's audio does not sound as good, blah, blah, blah, as other, shall we say, "designer DAWs". Is there any truth to this statement or is this just more BS from the biased and lopsided internet?