Propellerhead Software
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 2011-07-06, 13:06
davidfoley

ReWire for iOS

Hi there,

I'm not an iOS developer, so I cannot vouch that this is possible, but I can definitely vouch that this is desirable!

First, a little background. On iOS, it is not currently possible to record digital audio generated by one app, into another, without the use of external hardware or using the system clipboard to copy rendered audio tracks from one app to another. I don't know if this is down to a constraint imposed by Apples DRM (i.e. if it was possible to do this via iOS API's it would be possible to have perfect digital copies of music purchased from iTunes) or simply that no-one has identified the following use cases before.

Say for example I have a number of iOS music apps generating audio in the background; Fruityloops, NLog and NanoStudio for example (note thats its possible with some apps to synchronise their MIDI clocks via CoreMIDI). I want to record a performance on NLog while using the other apps to provide bass and rhythm. The only way to currently record this on iOS is to use external hardware, usually the case being having to hack together your own wires, buy expensive connectors, or use a desktop / laptop based recording system, which is great.... unless you are on the move.