Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 2003-11-02, 00:29

Slightly OT - Anyone using Linux for their PC Studio?

I've been monitoring Linux for several years, installing a 'distro' about once/year to check out what has been improved, in the user-friendlyness/hardware support areas especially.
My latest try was Mandrake 9.1 earlier this year, which resulted in two days of frustration trying to get my Audigy2 to work properly. I did manage to get it working, but Mandrake is really going downhill. It used to be THE user-friendly Linux, but now it's just annoying, rough and unfinished and more often than not, you have to bypass all the helpful wizzards and tools they put in it and use the console.
There were however many things that impressed me as well. It detected mostly everything - network printer, CD-writer, monitor, peripherals. I even plugged my MP3 player into the USB port and an icon popped up on the desktop for it right away. I never tried my M-Audio keyboard because I couldn't get the low-latency sound drivers to install anyway. It also comes with all the tools you would need for school or small office use.

I've looked at some other distro's and when I have some time, I'll try some of them, especially Suse looks very interesting.

I'm using WindowsXP normally, but when it comes to the actual applications, I've found myself switching more and more to non-Microsoft/open source alternatives. I'm using Mozilla instead of IE/Outlook, OpenOffice instead of MS Office, various free media players etc.

That got me thinking, has anyone tried making music with Linux and free/open source software only? I'm not trying to take away market share from Propellerhead or anything, but I was just wondering.